Overview-Southwest Minzu University


 Chinese  About Us  Mission Statement  Library  Contact Us 
Home | Greeting from University President | Academic Programs | Research | Schools | International & Domestic Cooperation
  Oversea Students Services
Application Guidelines
Student Event
Campus Life
Student Profile
Online Application
Position:Home>Oversea Students Services>Overview

Southwest Minzu University is located in Chengdu, a famous historical and cultural capital city of Sichuan Province. It was founded in July 1950, and was officially established on 1 June 1951. It is a comprehensive university for the education of ethnic minorities in China. It is under the direct administration of the National Ethnic Affairs Commission, and is also jointly-sponsored by the Ministry of Education, the National Ethnic Affairs Commission and Sichuan Provincial People’s Government.
At present, Southwest Minzu University has three campuses: Wuhou Campus, Hangkonggang Campus and Taipingyuan Campus. It has a Qianghai-Tibetan Plateau Ecological Protection and High Tech Research Demonstration Base for Animal Husbandry in Hongyuan County, Aba Tibetan and Qiang Autonomous Prefecture, Sichuan province.
Southwest Minzu University has been insisting on the mission of serving ethnic minority groups and ethnic minority areas as well as serving national development strategies. It has an Ethnic Museum with unique characteristics and a Tibetology Documentation Center .The university also hosts a Yi Studies Documentation Center, boasting to have the world’s largest collections relating to the Tibetan people and the Yi People in China.
Southwest Minzu University has a comprehensive range of disciplines covering 12 categories. Altogether, the university offers 2 post-doctoral research stations, 3 doctoral programs, 24 master programs, 13 professional master's programs, and 88 undergraduate programs.
Southwest Minzu University has established academic exchange and cooperation with more than sixty educational or research institutions throughout the world, including LMU Munich, Columbia University in the City of New York, University of California, Riverside and so on. The University sends 1,000 Chinese students to study abroad at cooperative institutions of higher education and has accepted 7,300 international students from more than 70 countries.


Copyright © 2014 Southwest Minzu University